Tolu’s 2014 in a Flash

2014 went by very quickly. Seldom do we feel that a new chapter of our lives is truly beginning. 2014 surely ushered in a new chapter of my life. So much happened and so much changed. I did so many exciting things from getting into medical school to going on a dinosaur dig. Here is 2014…in a flash.

JANUARY

  • In the heat of the always draining medical application cycle, I was enthused to get into a Case Western!
CUE CELEBRATION!!!!
CUE CELEBRATION!!!!

FEBRUARY

  • I saw the Barber of Seville for FREE (tickets I won in a Why I Love Opera essay contest). So much fun! FYI: I am a big opera fan.
Figarooooo w/ the big sis
Figarooooo w/ the big sis

MARCH

  • I completed my favorite class at UChicago, “The Comparative Fairy Tale,” and wrote a really great essay on the fairy tale and the sexual maturation of the female protagonist. At least…my professor thought it was great!
  • I started a swim class! I could not swim previously…now I can (on my back) and freestyle with flippers.

1966075_10152334203828914_1192902164173598457_o

APRIL (the most epic of months)

  • I had the BEST april fool’s joke ever. Many were deceived.
he he he he
he he he he
  • I met Christa and Aaida at Case Med’s Second Look Weekend. Who knew they’d end up being some of my closest friends in Cleveland?
New friends!
New friends!
  • I got to meet some of the cast members from Veep, The West Wing (AHH JOSH LYMAN and TOBY ZIEGLER), and Scandal (yes I met Cyrus Beane)
He was so nice to me even though I was fan-girling like a fool
He was so nice to me even though I was fan-girling like a fool
  • I modeled in the Culture Shock Show put together by the African and Caribbean Students Association! I also did not fall.
tehee
tehee

MAY

  • Submitted my honors thesis!
HALLELUJAH. I remember the stress.
HALLELUJAH. I remember the stress.
  • Then it was accepted! Celebration! Turn up! My PI gave me a hug woo!
This is how I turn up
This is how I turn up
  • I finally met Sue at the Field Museum. Getting ready for my future expedition.
Tolu-rex
Tolu-rex

JUNE

  • I saw my favorite band, Vampire Weekend, again!
Vampire Weekend forever!
Vampire Weekend forever!
  • I finally graduated from the University of Chicago w/ honors!
Convocation
Convocation
I made it!
I made it!
  • I went on a fossil dig to Wyoming with Paul Sereno and my dinosaur science class!
Legendary!!!
Legendary!!!
The troops :)
The troops 🙂
Digging around a vertebrae
Digging around a dino vertebrae
The best selfie of 2014!
The best selfie of 2014!

JULY

  • I am four wisdom-teeth less wiser! (quality of life dramatically improved)
  • I moved to Cleveland and started med school!
Class of 2018!
Class of 2018!
  • The CASE Chronicles began!

AUGUST

  • I joined an orchestra for the first time since high school!
It is wonderful to be playing music again. :)
It is wonderful to be playing music again. 🙂
  • I became a foodie.
Burger from Iron Chef America's Michael Symon's B-Spot Restaurant
Burger from Iron Chef America’s Michael Symon’s B-Spot Restaurant

SEPTEMBER

  • Joined Urban Health Pathway
  • Started Narrative Medicine course
  • Was elected Diversity Representative

OCTOBER

  • Finished block 2
  • Had first orchestra concert!

FullSizeRender

NOVEMBER

  • I saw old friends ❤
Out for Tomi's Birthday!
Out for Tomi’s Birthday!
Look who came to my "office hours"!
Look who came to my “office hours”!

DECEMBER

  • I was frustrated with social injustice and tried to do something about it.
Most of those in attendance.  Photo credit: Ki Oh of Keypoint Photograph
Most of those in attendance.
Photo credit: Ki Oh of Keypoint Photography
Black students, faculty and staff. Two deans--one of the medical school and one of the university are pictured.  Photo credit: A. Sharma
Black students, faculty and staff. Two deans–one of the medical school and one of the university are pictured.
Photo credit: A. Sharma
  • Helped support the Free Clinic of Greater Cleveland with other case students!
The Strings of the Doc Opera Band
The Strings of the Doc Opera Band

2014 has been quite the year. A new chapter of my life has surely begun, and I am hoping for so much more. Resolutions: 1) stay more focused with less senioritis 2) be more patient 3) be more on top of research pursuits 4) make time for romanceeeeeee ❤

Reader:

May you have a blessed end to 2014. May the new beginning you have dreamed of be more than a dream. May the hopes you have for yourself be realized.

May you have a very Happy New Year!

One thought on “Tolu’s 2014 in a Flash

Leave a Reply

